A Radical Act

I claimed my WordPress account days ago.  That was a victory.  I’ve been wanting to blog for a while now.  My web designer suggested it when she set up my site, www.bodysherpa.net, more than a year ago.  I’d been reaching out through Vertical Response and she thought I might enjoy the freedom to just write and post whenever the mood strikes.  That seemed like dangerous business to me.  Like talking without thinking.

And then last week I sent out a newsletter, one that had been sitting in waiting for weeks.  It felt so good pushing “send.”  I felt connected to the community I have developed over the years and in many cities.  And the floodgates of response opened — the dialogue that I crave and had invited into my life.  Responses to my questions.  Updates on your lives.  A friend wrote “I’d been thinking it was a long time since you had sent an email.  I missed it.”  Turns out people want to hear what I have to say.  That is a radical thought to me — especially as, just recently, someone close to said, “I roll my eyes when you speak.”  Ouch.

So this blogging is a step into believing that what I have to say just might matter.  Even when it’s not polished and perfect.  And beginning to blog right now, even though I don’t yet have a handle on this technology, don’t quite know how to bring people to this space — on Facebook or from my email newsletter, is a radical action.  As radical as my choosing to believe what the eye roller said may be true for her, but that it is not a universal truth.

 

About LesleyPearl

I am. A massage therapist. A teacher. A writer. A healer. A dancer. An artist. A bodysherpa. For 10 years I made my living telling other people’s stories — as a reporter, and then, later, as a public relations and marketing professional. Today I help people rewrite their own body stories. Much as I have rewritten mine. My body story read: Fat. Uncoordinated. Sickly, facing a life of respiratory problems. In my 40s, I’ve completed a bike century and sprint triathlon. Hiked the hills of California, Colorado and the South of France. Mountain biked through the Sierra Madre. Snow shoed at Yosemite. And maintained a healthy weight for eight years. Lately, I spend Sunday mornings dancing to West African drumming. I look in the mirror and I like what I see. I believe that when you change how you feel about your body, you change what you can do with your body. And the universe opens with infinite possibilities. As a self-named bodysherpa, I’ve built a practice with the express purpose of helping people to fall in love with their bodies, take care of their bodies and do things they never imagined possible. My blogs are a further exploration of accepting myself for who and how I am at this very moment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Radical Act

  1. Toast says:

    Good for you!

  2. James LaForest says:

    Have fun blogging. I am a friend of a friend on Facebook and he posted the link to your site. I started blogging a few months ago and now have two blogs. It’s motivating to think in different ways and allowing me an outlet for creativity! I will check in again.

    all the best,
    James
    http://dayreturn.wordpress.com/
    https://medievalmystics.wordpress.com/

  3. Clover says:

    I love you. Can’t wait to read it ALL. Eye-rollers be gone!

  4. Welcome to the blogosphere! Looking forward to your wrlting. Love the look. It feels very open.

  5. bodysherpa says:

    Love seeing friends new and old here. James, a real 6 degrees of separation. Thanks for reaching out and sharing your experience.

  6. James LaForest says:

    You might also be interested in my other site, Medieval Mystics, about Jewish Mysticism. https://medievalmystics.wordpress.com/

    James

  7. Kelly Standing says:

    Don’t let the eyerollers get you down. Let them spur you on! … I once had someone tell me that being with me was like “trying to drink from a fire hose.” Ouch! I let that comment inform me where I needed it to … and … now, I surround myself with people who LIKE to drink from fire hoses.

  8. Lesley says:

    I love that you blog! I can really hear your voice in your words. It feels good. I’ve missed you so much. Lots of love to you!

    • bodysherpa says:

      I have missed you too, Lesley. I will be in the Bay Area late March, early April and would love to see you. And those babies. XXOO

      • Lesley says:

        You’ve just made my day! We’d love to see you too!

        BTW your post about being 10 years old brought tears to my eyes. Very powerful and also hit home with me.

Leave a Reply

